Our company Wood & Energy is an internationally focused group of companies that has been operating in the wood processing industry since 1997

We produce sawn timber, solid structural timber, wood pellets and renewable energy in the form of electricity and heat at our 3 production sites in Belgium and Germany in completely integrated production processes. The wood comes from sustainable, regional forestry. We can add value to all parts of the trunk by making optimum use of the synergies between material and energy cycles. Issues such as cascade use and the circular economy are particularly important in this context.

Sawn timber
Solid structural timber
Wood pellets
Renewable energy

Wood & Energy Group

IBV & Cie

The site in Vielsalm is the largest in the group. It is here that regional softwoods are processed into sawn timber. The resulting sawmill by-products of sawdust and wood chips are used on site to produce wood pellets of the highest quality, providing about 50,000 of families with a sustainable source of heat. The site also has a biomass co-generation plant that uses wood residues for which there is no alternative use to produce green electricity and heat. The part of the electricity generated that is not needed internally is fed into the public grid. The heat is used completely in our production processes, ensuring the plant's extremely high level of efficiency.

IBV & Cie - Home
IBH Harperscheid

This site can be described as the cradle of the Wood&Energy Group, as it is our oldest site. Again, only softwoods are processed into sawn timber here. Compared to the other sites, this sawmill can handle large trunk diameters and is therefore very flexible, enabling it to saw logs with diameters of between 100 and 900 mm. All sawmill by-products produced here are recycled internally.

IBH Harperscheid - Home
Holz Schmidt Cölbe

In addition to a sawmill, our site in Cölbe/Schönstadt also operates a biomass power plant to generate electricity and heat to supply our timber drying chambers. The surplus heat is used to supply around 85% of the households in the neighbouring villages with sustainably generated heat. In addition, Holz Schmidt manufactures solid structural timber (KVH®), a product that is subject to high quality standards and has become an indispensable material for applications in modern timber construction. The annual production capacity for further processing is around 150,000m³.

Holz Schmidt Cölbe - Home
W&E Strategy Sàrl

W&E Strategy acts as a service provider for the Wood&Energy Group's pan-European activities, coordinating the individual locations as well as their administration, IT and finance departments. The company specialises in buying and selling timber and sawmill products as well as biomass used in the energy sector. An important part of its activities is the engineering and project management of industrial sites in the sawmill and biomass energy sector. In addition, W&E Strategy can draw on many years of expertise in the operational management of sawmills and biomass utilisation sites. Finally, W&E Strategy is responsible for planning the strategy and growth of the Wood&Energy Group and its activities.

Round timber purchasing

Sale of sawn timber

No direct sales to private individuals.

Unser Unternehmen Wood & Energy ist eine international ausgerichtete Unternehmensgruppe, die seit 1997 in der holzverarbeitenden Industrie tätig ist.

An unseren 3 Produktionsstandorten in Belgien und Deutschland werden in komplett integrierten Produktionsprozessen Schnittholz, Konstruktionsvollholz, Holzpellets und erneuerbare Energie in Form von Elektrizität und Wärme produziert. Das Holz stammt dabei aus nachhaltiger und regionaler Forstwirtschaft. Durch die optimale Nutzung der Synergien zwischen Stoff- und Energiekreislauf können wir sämtliche Teile des Stammes einer Wertschöpfung zuführen. Dabei sind Themen wie Kaskadennutzung und Kreislaufwirtschaft besonders wichtig.

Schnittholz
Konstruktionsvollholz
Holzpellets
Erneuerbare Energie

Wood & Energy Gruppe

IBV & Cie

Der Standort in Vielsalm ist der größte der Gruppe. Hier werden regionale Nadelhölzer zu Schnittholz verarbeitet. Die dabei anfallenden Sägenebenprodukte, Sägemehl und Hackschnitzel, werden vor Ort genutzt um Holzpellets der höchsten Qualität zu produzieren und damit rund 50.000 Familien eine nachhaltige Wärmequelle zu liefern.  Dieser Standort verfügt ebenfalls über ein Biomasse Heizkraftwerk welches holzartige Reststoffe, für die keine alternative Nutzungsmöglichkeit besteht, verwertet und daraus grüne Elektrizität und Wärme produziert. Der Teil der erzeugten Elektrizität, welcher nicht intern benötigt wird, wird ins öffentliche Netz eingespeist. Die Wärme wird vollständig in unseren Produktionsprozessen genutzt, woraus ein sehr hoher Wirkungsgrad der Anlage resultiert. 

IBV & Cie - Home
IBH Harperscheid

Dieser Standort kann als die Wiege der Wood&Energy Gruppe bezeichnet werden, da es sich um ihren ersten Standort handelt. Hier werden ebenfalls ausschließlich Nadelhölzer zu Schnittholz verarbeitet. Im Vergleich zu den übrigen Standorten zeichnet sich dieses Sägewerk durch seine große Zopfspanne und damit Flexibilität aus. So können hier Stammdurchmesser zwischen 100 und 900 mm gesägt werden. Sämtliche Sägenebenprodukte die hier anfallen werden intern verwertet. 

IBH Harperscheid - Home
Holz Schmidt Cölbe

An unserem Standort in Cölbe/Schönstadt wird neben einem Sägewerk ebenfalls ein Biomassekraftwerk zur Strom- und Wärmegewinnung zur Versorgung unserer Holztrocknungskammern betrieben.
Mit der überschüssigen Wärme werden rund 85% der Haushalte der angrenzenden Ortschaften mit nachhaltig erzeugter Wärme versorgt. Außerdem fertigt Holz Schmidt mit dem Baustoff Konstruktionsvollholz (KVH®) ein Produkt, welches hohen Qualitätsnormen unterliegt und für Anwendungen im modernen Holzbau zum unverzichtbaren Werkstoff geworden ist. Die jährliche Produktionskapazität in der Weiterverarbeitung liegt bei rund 150.000m³.

Holz Schmidt Cölbe - Home
W&E Strategy Sàrl

Die W&E Strategy fungiert als Dienstleister für die europaweiten Aktivitäten der Wood&Energy Gruppe und koordiniert die einzelnen Standorte sowie deren Verwaltung, IT und Finanzabteilung. Die Gesellschaft ist spezialisiert im An- und Verkauf von Holz und Sägerei-Produkten, sowie der im Energiebereich eingesetzten Biomasse. Einen wichtigen Teil der Aktivitäten stellt das Engineering und das Projektmanagement von Industriestandorten im Sägewerk- und Biomasse-Energiesektor dar.  Daneben verfügt W&E Strategy über jahrelanges Know-How in der Betriebsführung von Sägewerken und Biomasse verwertenden Standorten. Schlussendlich ist die W&E Strategy verantwortlich für die Strategie- und Wachstumsplanung der Wood&Energy Gruppe und ihrer Aktivitäten. 

Rundholzeinkauf

Verkauf Schnittholz

Kein Direktvertrieb an Privatleute